So this past semester I really struggled with trying to figure out what I wanted to do about my major and I came to the conclusion that I was putting my artistic talents to waste by studying linguistics. Don’t get me wrong it’s interesting, just not enough to pursue that as a career for my whole life. And honestly I’m the type of person who could get interested in anything. But I want to be able to be passionate about something. I took summer classes at the Art Institute and realized that I love design. Learning photoshop and illustrator was like the most awesome thing I’ve done in college yet. It made me annoyed of all of the bs liberal art gen ed’s that the U makes people take to suck as much money out of us as possible. I decided to transfer. This made me have to become an “inactive” member of AOII, which I was super upset about because I lived so far from campus this year that I wasn’t nearly as involved as I wanted to be. I had mixed feelings about everything because I seriously love the U and I love greek life, but I wouldn’t have been able to transfer to the design school with the grades I got this year. So I transferred.

But apparently, since they go to school year round, summer classes aren’t an option–they are a necessity. I had taken a may term, but wasn’t intending on taking the summer term because I knew I’d be home in Milwaukee for Summerfest and a bunch of weddings. So since they started summer term yesterday, I had to un-enroll and re-enroll at the next term–IN OCTOBER. I’m not trying to wait that long considering I had to totally start from scratch. So the last few days have been extremely long and nerve racking trying to figure out what I wanted to do. My dad was really set on me staying at the U and majoring in Italian because I’m already almost done with all those requirements. I figured I’d do that and minor in art, and then go to Grad School for animation or design or whatever it is I want to do. I’ve been really determined since I was little to learn Italian and learn about the culture. I’m proud of my heritage and I want to be able to teach my kids about it in the future, because my family hasn’t done much in terms of preserving our heritage. So I guess that’s the plan, stay at the U and get a degree in Italian with a minor in Art. I’m not exactly sure what I’ll do with that, most likely teach. I might get into translating for businesses or something. Someone in my family translates for an oil company and they make bannnnk. It’ll be nice to do something like that for a few years before I really get into design. So yeah that’s the story. I’m so incredibly happy that I can still be active in AOII now, because I was really looking forward to getting to know everyone better, and participating more, getting a position, getting a lil sis, recruitment, and all of the things I didn’t really get the most out of this past year. Mostly I’m super excited to live in Animal House with a bunch of my sisters. I really wanted to live-in AOII at some point, but this will be just as fun!

Well that’s it for now, keep checking back. I’ve been stumbling for inspiration as to how to decorate my room once I get back up to school, so there should be some good stuff up soon!

Sam